Technology for Humanity

Carmen Fontana
1 min readJun 15, 2023

--

Like many during the pandemic, I had a few existential moments, including: Where did I want to go with my career? What was my purpose?

Ultimately, I became another member of the “great resignation.” It was time to rediscover the joy of immersing myself in the latest and greatest tech. And it was time to do something that made a difference.

What I love about our technology here at Augment Therapy is that it pushes what is possible. Environments and avatars are built using the world’s leading 3D modeling engine (Unity). And we use the latest in visual #AI to capture and respond to movements in joints throughout the body.

Our niche is serving those with complex medical needs, such as Cerebral Palsy, Down’s Syndrome, Sickle Cell Anemia, and cancer. Our users may be wheelchair-bound, missing a limb, or have a very limited range of motion.

We customize our technology to work for their unique needs. That includes designing avatars with hair loss, or that use walkers. Or adapting gameplay to accommodate kids with a low range of motion or cognitive delays.

Thank you Case Alumni Association for allowing me to share my career journey, and the cool things we are doing at Augment Therapy, in your latest alumni magazine!

Read the article here: https://lnkd.in/en2sXB7j

--

--